Loading Events
This event has passed.

The Philippines is basking in an Information Technology Renaissance…

We've seen the Startup scene and IT sector hogging the headlines. Now, to support budding technopreneurs and their garage operations in discovering co-founders/new talents – following the success of Hack2HATCH – DevCon is hosting a CODE CHALLENGE CUP (C-CUP) on November 30, 2012 in Xavier School (Greenhills).

C-Cup aims to help spur critical thinking and highlight problem solving strategies under pressure. It is patterned after the International Collegiate Programming Contest organized by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) – the oldest, largest and most prestigious programming contest in the world. Hardcore IT geeks consider this to be the “Olympics of Computer Programming.”

C-Cup is a rigid algorithm programming competition mixed with the dexterity of a hackathon. It is a 6-hour competition where teams of 1, 2 or 3 programmers each will be asked to solve 10 problems using a myriad of languages of their preference, in the comforts of their trusted computer workstations:

  • C
  • C#
  • C++
  • Java
  • JavaScript
  • PHP
  • Python
  • Ruby
  • VB.NET

The team with the highest score wins. 1500 points will be awarded per accepted run and -300 for rejected runs.  1 point bonus will be awarded for every minute remaining prior to the contest's end.  In case of a tie, the time of last accepted run will be used to determine the winner.  Victorious teams will receive trophies with a cash prize of P20,000 given to the overall champion. Besides the battle of IT professionals, there are also categories for high school and college students.

Individual contest shirts plus free-flowing refreshments and grub will keep the participants company, while they pour their hearts out on six hours of coding, analysis and troubleshooting.


Related Links

As of this writing, the testing and verification environment would be VirtualBox virtual machines with 512MB allocated RAM running Ubuntu 12.10. The following compilation tools and interpreters will be installed on these virtual machines which shall be used by the judges to evaluate the submitted runs:

  • C, C++ – gcc 4.7.2
  • Java – OpenJDK 7u9
  • PHP – CLI 5.4.6
  • C#, VB.NET – Mono, vbnc
  • Ruby – MRI 1.9.3p194
  • Python – CPython 2.7.3
  • JavaScript – Node.js 0.6.19

Teams will be submitting source code only. They may not use external libraries, and pre-made algorithm implementations are subject to approval from the judges.

We are still preparing the online registration form. In the meantime, you can sign up your team by sending an email to mailbox@devcon.ph with the subject "C-Cup." Payment details will be given once you have registered your team.

Rate per TeamProfessionalHigh School / CollegeDeadline
Early BirdP500P36011/16/12
Regular  P800P50011/23/12


Official Contest Result in PDF format can be downloaded here.
Problem Sets in PDF format can be downloaded here. Unofficial solutions here.






Grand Champion: Tinapay (#1), icannhas (PRO)
– Joseph Jesneil Montalbo
– Ralph Rainiel Pineda
– Julian Villaruz
* P21,000 cash + trophy
First Runner-up: Johncannhas (#46), icannhas (PRO)
– John Eddie Ayson
– John Ruperto Celis
– Abel Luis Santos
* P9,000 cash + trophy
Second Runner-up: Two Boys One Girl in C-Cup (#14), icannhas (PRO)
– Neil Armin Bande
– Thomas James Mendoza
– Neil John Ortega
* P6,000 cash + trophy
Champion: Perpendicular (#21), ADMU
– Mark Joshua Tan
– Vernon Gutierrez
– Jonathan Wong
* P3,000 cash + trophy
First Runner-up: Quiwarriors 3: BaBe Vidal (#40), UP Diliman
– John Patrick Baduria
– Neil Irwin Bernardo
– Adrian Vidal
Second Runner-up: Quiwarriors 2: December 1993 (#20), UP Diliman
– Bryan Edward Ayson
– Jose Daniel Berba
– Immanuel Encarnacion
Champion: Progxercise (#33), ADMU
– Marco Daniel de Santos
– Armando Jose Castelo
– Victor Antonio Ortega
* P3,000 cash + trophy
First Runner-up: PSHS-MC Kiddies (#10), PSHS
– Quinito Miguel Baula
– Bianca Mae Malaluan
– Bianca Patricia Cacnio
Second Runner-up: DDR (#25), ADMU
– Jose Enrico Buenaflor Tiongson
– David Martin Alikpala Cuajunco
– Dave Joseph Solito Oblena
Second Runner-up: Treslas (#28), XS Greenhills
– Bryan Perry Giger
– Daniel Paul Uy
– Peter Nicholas Onglao